on reading, etc.

22 Nov

Mandy Brown, by Carrie Levy.

I do know Mandy Brown. I just didn’t know I knew her.

Since my friend Derek turned me on to The Great Discontent, I look forward to Tuesdays, when they post a new interview. A majority of the time, I abandon the text at about question three or four. It’s mostly about design, and I don’t know enough to really engage with their stories. But I enjoy going nonetheless.

But now, today, a designer and a writer. Predictably, I’m all ears. Then I realize I’ve seen her stuff before—also via Derek.

Mandy Brown created A Working Library and helped found A Book Apart. She does many other things as well. In reading the interview, I was drawn toward the aphoristic quotations off to the right, which had been pulled from Mandy’s writings and appear below.

What I found most intriguing was how many of them remarkably mimicked my thoughts of the past two days, as I’ve meditated on a new essay I plan to write for Anobium. Which, in the end, is a brilliant example of precisely what she’s talking about. Enjoy.

:: :: ::

Always read with a pen in hand. The pen should be used both to mark the text you want to remember and to write from where the text leaves you. Think of the text as the starting point for your own words.

:: :: ::

Reading and writing are not discrete activities; they occur on a continuum, with reading at one end, writing at the other. The best readers spend their time somewhere in between.

:: :: ::

A single book struggles to balance on its spine; it pines for neighbors. Keep as many books as you have room for.

:: :: ::

Read voraciously, many books at a time. Only then will you hear the conversation taking place among them.

2 Responses to “on reading, etc.”

  1. 1 Story A Week November 22, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Wow. Those quotes are awesome. I need to check this lady out. She sounds brilliant. Oh, and thanks for sharing!

    • Timothy Schuler November 23, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      Absolutely! Sharing is what this blog is for. Don’t miss “Why We Write,” a series of personal reflections on what it means to wrangle words. The first is here: https://readzebra.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/why-we-write-sean-conner/. The rest will be posted over the next few weeks!

      I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on the matter as well.

Leave a Reply

