dodging my cliches

10 Nov

I cannot stop listening to this NewVillager record.

It’s somehow all the glory of classic rock, all the electro-goodness of M83, all the optimism of Polyphonic Spree, and all the vigor of Where the Wild Things Are. If that sounds impossible, I understand, but for the life of me I can’t write them off. They defy the cliches I lob at them and dodge the tropes I want to say they fall into.

The music’s dancey but almost never has a pulsing bass beat. Things are syncopated but never weird. The costumed antics in their videos could be childish cries for attention except they’re all backed by a surprising amount of symbolism.

I may just have to accept that I won’t be listening to much else for the next few months. If you want to join me, watch the video for “Big Shot Horixon” below. If not, I suggest you avoid it.

3 Responses to “dodging my cliches”

  1. Matthew Schuler November 11, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    I just bought this!! quality

    • Timothy Schuler November 11, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

      right!? so glad. we’ll have to listen in a month or so when we see each other. and dance in hair-and-mud costumes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. like minds like mythologies « Read::Zebra - November 11, 2011

    […] day after I post about NewVillager, ALARM posts Katie Fanuko’s profile of the group, which first appeared in Chromatic: The […]

Leave a Reply

