When I bought Noble Beast, I immediately regretted it

12 Feb

andrew_bird_by_bendxthexbracket

I recently read an article on Relevant’s website.

“What are you listening to?” it was called.

kings-of-leon

And I got really frustrated. Here’s why:

“That embarrassingly late discovery of something everyone already knew forced me to realize my last round of real musical exploration (i.e., purchasing albums en masse) was all the way back around Lollapalooza. Disgraceful, I know.”

Wait… I’m sorry, did you just apologize for not exploring music more faithfully? Yes, you did. And really, I shouldn’t be surprised, because people do that now. Even I do it. When someone’s heard something you haven’t heard, you get defensive and say something like, “Yeah, I’ve been out of the scene for a while,” or “I’ve heard OF them, but I haven’t heard them,” or “I keep meaning to check it out.” Because we don’t want to be alone in the dark. The dark being musical ignorance.

But why? I mean, I listen to music for me. I enjoy it. I love it. One of my favorite things to do. Since when did it become relevant who I’ve heard and how quickly I heard them?

I don’t like how our identities get so swallowed up by our iTunes libraries. I post a list of songs each week on here; on them are some new things I’m listening to, and some old things. I mean, my album of the week last month was The Killers’ Sam’s Town. It’s over two years old. [GASP!]

the_killers___vancouver_04_by_akb_316

I don’t want to get to the point where I HAVE to have new music. I’ve been there. It’s ugly. And I think it’s really bad for people.

So I posted thoughts similar to this at the bottom of the page and I felt like a buzzkill, a hater, one of those “take-it-too-seriously” people, and an uncool old guy. Because I could’ve posted a band no one had heard of. But instead I was finally frustrated with some people’s unhealthy relationship to music.

And I let it fly. Read the comments here

Peace.

peace_by_thepiston

Leave a Reply

